Homemade Cleaning Products

Here it is. The post I’m sure you’ve all been looking forward to, and the post that i’ve been dreading doing, simply because I know how time consuming this is going to be. Well, here goes.

I found these great eco-friendly, low-budget cleaners on Macheesmo, through Pinterest (Don’t you just love Pinterest?)

Grease Cutter

2 Cups Water

1/2 Cup Castil Soap

10 Drops Essential Oil

Castil Soap is this:

you can find it in most health food stores, and target. i’m not sure if walmart carries this. it cost about $8, but you don’t use very much of it. (plus, it’s lavender scented, so if you use lavender essential oil, you get EXTRA lavender!)

Just funnel all this into your spray bottle and you’re good to go!

We used this to clean the stove, and it wiped the grease/crust right off!

Tile Scrubber

2/3 C Baking Soda

1/2 C Castile Soap

2T Vinegar

10 Drops or so Tea Tree Oil

We used this on the tile floor and the bathtubs, all left a great shine and no scum!

Antibacterial Spray

1 Cup Water

20 Drops Tea Tree Oil (It’s a disinfectant)

Unfortunately I’m not a germ, so I’m not sure as to how well this works, but it cleans up minor spills, and makes the whole room smell like lavender!

All-Purpose Cleaner

3 Tablespoons Vinegar

1/2 Teaspoons Washing Soda (Found in the grocery store next to the laundry and dish detergent)

1/2 Tablespoon Castile Soap

2 Cups Hot Water

We used this on all our surfaces. I don’t like the spray bottle we got, it shoots a stream and not a spray, but that’s fixable.

My attitude was right in gear just to keep going, so I found Dish Washer Detergent, Laundry Detergent, and Liquid Hand Soap to go with them!

Dish Washer Detergent

1 Whole Box Borax (Found in grocery store by the Laundry/Dishwasher Detergent)

1 Whole Box Washing Soda

3 C. Epsom Salt (Also found in the cleaning supplies)

24 Packages un-sweetened Lemonade Packets (These are the small kool-aide packets, so if you buy the tub i’m not sure what that equates to)

I guess the lemonade adds citrus, which sterilizes and it smells nice. I warn you to find a BIG bucket/bowl for this. I used the biggest bowl we had and it was overflowing!

We still have Pre-Made stuff left, so we haven’t used it yet. I’ll let you know how that goes.

Laundry Detergent

1 Bar Soap Grated (About 1 Cup)

Cook this in 1 Gallon Water until the soap shavings melt away.

it took about 15 mins on high for me to see it melting. just don’t let it boil!

After it melts, add 1 Cup Borax and 1 Cup Washing Soda, then bring it to a boil. Add 1 Gallon Cold Water, stir, and let cool.

I was VERRRRRY skeptical when I saw the constancy this took after cooling. It’s like a foam-mush. And there are chunks in it, and it doesn’t lather. Well, I’ve been using it for about a month, 1 cup per large load, and my clothes actually do feel clean! SURPRISE. this one’s a keeper!

Liquid Hand Soap

1 Cup Soap Flakes (Any Soap)

10 Cups Water

1 Tablespoon Glycerin (Found at most craft stores. I got mine at Hobby Lobby in the Soap Making Section)

Add scent if desired. I added Lavender Essential Oil.

The consistency on this turned out VERY watery, so next time I am not going to add as much water, just enough to melt the shavings. BUT it does lather nicely and smells delightful.

Total Cost: $50-Suppiles $10-Containers $60 

Not only am i over estimating a tad, this is the price for ALL the supplies (i still have at least 1/2 the supplies left over for the next batch!)

(Usual Cost of Pre-Made Products): Approx. $100

Total Savings: $40 (That’s not too much, but it’s going to add up!)

Apart from the proposed savings, my favorite part of these cleaners is how GREAT it smells! The Tea Tree Oil is magnificent, and I love scrubbing tile without wriggling my nose at the bleach. If you make some of your own, comment and let me know how it goes!

About lindsayjuarez

This is a little space i've created to post various writing exercises and ideas. View all posts by lindsayjuarez

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

